top of page

How I Study Korean Alphabets

I am going to share how I study Korean Alphabets as a beginner in learning Korean. I am going to share my own specific study methods, along with the study materials which can be useful for you as well.


My Study Methods!

First, I always start off by reading about the Korean language on Wikipedia for a brief overview.

Takeaways:

  • Modern Korean is written in Hangul, a system developed in the 15th century.

  • Before the creation of Hangul, people in Korea used the classical Chinese, alongside native phonetic writing systems that predate Hangul by hundreds of years, including idu, hyangchal, gugyeol, and gakpil.

  • Literacy was for the elites only, hence to assuage this problem, King Sejong created the unique alphabet known as Hangul to promote literacy among the common people.

  • Honorific : The three levels with high politeness (very formally polite, formally polite, casually polite) are generally grouped together as jondaenmal (존댓말), whereas the two levels with low politeness (formally impolite, casually impolite) are banmal (반말) in Korean. The remaining two levels (neutral formality with neutral politeness, high formality with neutral politeness) are neither polite nor impolite.

  • Hanja usage in South Korea is mainly reserved for specific circumstances, such as newspapers, scholarly papers, and disambiguation.


Second, I gather all the study materials I can get my hands on.


My Study Materials!


Websites



Books

  1. TalkToMeInKorean - Become a Hangeul Master_ Learn to Read and Write Korean Characters-Kong & Park Inc (2014)

  2. Miner, Blake(Editor)_Lee, Yoo Jin(Editor)_Park, Min Woo(Editor) - Learn to Read Korean in 60 Minutes_ The Ultimate Crash Course to Learning Hangul Through Psychological Associations-90 Day Korean

  3. Let's Learn Korean Pyongyang: Foreign Languages Books Publishing House


Videos


TV Shows & Movies

  1. Running Man

  2. 2 Days 1 Night

  3. The Return of Superman

  4. I Live Alone

  5. Fun's Restaurant

  6. Boys over flowers

  7. Full House

  8. Crash landing on you

  9. W: Two Worlds

  10. Train to Busan

  11. Law School

Youtube

  1. Korean Englishman

  2. WassupMan

  3. Jessi's Showterview

  4. Tyuzang

Kpop

  1. TWICE

  2. BTS

  3. BLACKPINK

  4. Hyuna

  5. SNSD

  6. EXO


The Hangul Chart

Writing order and orientation














For now, I am using these study materials as starters along with the visual charts above as well as watching Korean TV Shows & Movies,YouTube and listening to Kpop.


TalkToMeInKorean - Become a Hangeul Master_ Learn to Read and Write Korean Characters-Kong & Park Inc (2014)





In Summary: My Study Methods for learning Korean Alphabet !


  1. Writing down the alphabets repeatedly until I have them memorized.

  2. using my study materials :watching the videos, looking at charts, websites, Korean TV Shows & Movies, YouTube , kpop songs and repeating after the Korean speakers.

  3. reviewing weekly on what I've just learned and coming back to review over and over again.


AND this is how I am studying Korean Alphabets! :D



Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page